This article will go over why you may have been charged after you had cancelled your membership to a creator. It will cover any charges that you may feel should not have gone through. It's important to remember that our site operates in the PST (Pacific Standard Time Zone) and our billing cycle starts on the first of each month in alignment to that time.
If you cancelled your membership and were still billed, there are a couple of reasons why this may have occurred. In this article we will cover the following:
Will I be charged if I cancel my per-post membership?
Cancelling your membership with a creator who charges per post will not delete pending bills on your account. If you cancel your membership before the start of the pay cycle (the 1st of the month) you may be charged if you have any pending bills. This is because it is a charge for content published while your membership was active.
If you're unsure whether or not you'll be charged when you cancel, check your billing history for any pending bills before cancelling. Any paid posts created while your membership was active, will be listed here and you can expect that they'll be processed when you cancel.
To get to your billing history hover over your profile image in the top right to open the "User menu" > click on "Manage memberships" > Click "Billing history" from the menu bar.
You will also notice a total amount. The total will show as pending for per-post payments in your billing history before you are charged.
- You're a £1 patron of a per-post creator. They make a paid post on the 9th of July while you're a patron. A bill is created for this post and is marked as a pending payment in your billing history. On the 20th of July, you cancel your membership and your pending bill for £1 is processed to your payment method.
Will I be charged after cancelling my monthly membership?
If you cancelled your membership to a monthly creator before the payment cycle begins (the 1st of the month) and are charged later in the month, it is likely that your payment will be initially declined.
We bill all patrons with an active membership on the 1st of each month, Pacific Standard Time (PST). If you cancel your membership at any point on the 1st of the month (PST), we've already billed your account, and it will be processed.
When the 1st of the month rolls around, we begin to process all payments. If your payment does not process on the 1st, we will continue to attempt to process the payment.
If you update your payment method or have enough funds in your account to cover the charge, we will re-attempt to deduct your payment.
- You're a patron of a monthly creator. We bill you on the 1st of March for your membership and it is declined. You cancel your membership on the 2nd of March. We will continue to attempt to bill you for this past declined bill. You later have enough funds in your account on the 5th of March to cover the payment – when we run your card on the 5th, payment will be processed.