Edit my Tiers

  • Updated

Evolution is a vital part of the creative process! Keep your tiers updated with the work you’re producing and the benefits you’re offering.

Check in with yourself on a regular basis

Are you burnt out? Try to think about what is valuable to your patrons and what will be sustainable for you. The Creator Hub is full of great articles to support you through your membership journey, including How to structure your membership and price your benefits

What’s in this article?

Editing your tier

Before we get started, keep in mind that you cannot edit the price of a tier with active patrons. That said, you can change just about everything else.
  1. While logged in to your creator account, click on the My page link from the left sidebar navigation, if you aren’t already there
  2. Click the Page controls or "..." button
  3. Click on the Edit Tiers link from the menu bar
  4. Click the Edit tier button for the tier you want to update

At the top of the tier editor, you can change the tier name, description and benefits. If a tier doesn't have any patrons joined yet, you can also edit the price of the tier. If your tier already has patrons joined, the tier price cannot be changed.

As you scroll down, you’ll find where you can change your tier image by clicking the X in the current image.

Click on the Advanced section to change the following:

  • Increase or decrease the patron limit for a tier
  • Add or remove a shipping requirement
  • Change or remove Discord roles

Whether you’re making a minor change to your description or completely relaunching a tier, be sure to scroll down and click the Save tier button to save your changes.

Pricing tiers

You currently cannot change the price of a tier while patrons are members of that tier.

You can still implement a plan to reprice your tiers. Communication is key when making changes to your tiers and we recommend going through these 5 simple steps to make the transition to a new tier price as smooth as possible:

  1. Build your plan
  2. Making sure posts are accessible
  3. Unpublishing your tier
  4. Deleting your tier
  5. Following up with patrons not in a tier

You can read our full article to guide you through repricing in this guide here

When you add a new tier, your new tier will not automatically have access to old posts that were published for Select Tiers. To grant new tiers access to old posts, visit the Published page of your Posts section. Click the Edit link next to the posts you want to grant access to and select your new tiers before saving.

FAQ

Why can’t I change the price of a tier with patrons in it?

While a tier has patrons in it, you cannot edit the tier amount. We do this to prevent confusion. For example, imagine if you edited the £5 tier to the £10 tier – you would either have different patrons paying different amounts for the exact same benefit (not good), or you would raise prices on the £5 patrons without asking (also not good!)

Can I move a patron to another tier?

Not at the moment. Only patrons can edit their membership tier, so you won’t be able to move patrons from “no benefit” to a tier on your end.

Feel free to pass along this article from our Help Centre to guide patrons through selecting a new tier: How do I edit my membership?

Why are some patrons listed under 'no tier' after I deleted a tier?

Patrons are never automatically moved into new tiers when you create them as it changes their billing and benefit selections, so they need to change this on their end to be included in anything new. They can edit their payment following these steps: Editing your membership

How do I know if a patron is a 'no tier' patron?

You can use the filters in your Relationship Manager to access a list of who’s not currently in a tier.
To do this select the following from your Relationship Manager > click the Filters button > select No tier > click the Apply filters button

Why can’t I save my tier?

Are there patrons in that tier? If so, you won’t be able to change the price of the tier.

Check if you have an extra character in the field where only numbers are allowed (like $.) Try removing any extra characters and saving again.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for your feedback!

What went wrong?