Managing access to your posts

  • Updated

Setting post access is available to creators on our Pro and Premium plans. With post access, you can control exactly which audience your content is reaching. In this article, we’ll cover:

How to set access to your posts

While creating or editing a post you can set access to as specific of an audience as you’d like. Under Who can see this post? you can choose one of the following:

Audience What does it mean?
Public Anyone can find and consume your public posts even if they’re not a patron
All patrons All of your paying patrons can access your post, regardless of their tier status. Even patrons who selected a choose what you pay, “no tier” path can access all patron posts
Select tiers

Only patrons who are members of the tiers you’ve included will have access. By default, all Tiers will be selected when you choose Select Tiers, so be sure to deselect any tiers that will not have access.

Patrons who selected a choose what you pay, “no tier” path won’t have access to your post unless they update their membership with you

Why should I post for tiers instead of all patrons?

Creators who are on our pro and premium plans can give certain tiers post access while keeping them locked to others. Here is why that can be beneficial to run your membership:

  • It gives you more control over which patrons find your posts.
  • Do you have multiple projects and offer different benefits at the same tier level? You can have multiple tiers at the same price and have the option to provide the content you want. So you can have two £5 tiers offering completely different benefits

Your Relationship manager organizes all of your patrons by their tier — so there’s no guesswork on which posts different patrons can view!

Helping patrons gain access to your posts

If you have patrons who are in no tier or who are paying more than their tier price, we suggest that you reach out to them to let them know that they may be missing out on certain posts.

To message patrons who aren’t in a tier:

  1. Visit your Relationship Manager
  2. From here, click on the Filters button
  3. Under the Tiers section of the filters, select No tiers
  4. Then click the Apply filters button to get a list of all patrons who aren’t in a tier
  5. Click the Message button to send a mass note — our suggested messaging can be found below:

Dear patron,

I noticed that you created a custom pledge, or “no tier” when you joined my page. As a heads up, I post most of my content for the specific Tiers I offer. If you aren't in a Tier, you might not have access to all of the posts I'd love you to have.

If you’d like access to posts for my [TIER NAME] Tier, you'll want to select that Tier. You can make sure you're in the right Tier by visiting your Active memberships, and it will only take a minute.

If you need any additional help with this, here's Patreon's guide to unlocking posts.

Thanks for your continued support!

Here’s how to spot-check your Relationship manager for patrons who are paying more than their tier price:

  1. Visit your Relationship Manager
  2. Click on the Filters button
  3. Under the Tiers section of the filters, select a single tier
  4. In the Pledge amount section, set the prices range between your base tier prices and a significantly higher amount (like 100x the amount)
  5. Then, click the Apply filters button to get a list of patrons who are paying more than that tier price
  6. Click the Message button to check in with these patrons. Feel free to use our suggested messaging:

Dear patron,

I’m messaging you because I noticed that you’re currently pledging a higher amount than the membership Tier you’re signed up for. I post most of my content for my specific Tiers only, so you might not find all of my posts with your current membership.

I want to ensure you access the posts and benefits you intended. You can join my [TIER NAME] Tier by visiting your Active memberships – this will only take a minute.

If you need any additional help with this, here's Patreon's guide to unlocking posts.

Thanks for your continued support!

What about my posts before 7 November 2018?

All of your old posts will remain the same within the old model – so they'll be accessible to patrons based on the tier amount they're paying.

FAQ

When did this change take place?

A: 7 November 2018.

Can I select post access based on the payment amount?

A: No, you will only be able to select post access based on Tier or All patrons status.

Will selecting all patrons populate tick marks in all the boxes in the post workflow?

A: Yes, all the tickboxes will populate when you select all patrons.

Can creators move patrons into tiers?

A: No, they cannot. You’ll need to request your patrons do this themselves.

Where do I send my patrons to join a new tier?

A: Patrons can find this by going to their Active memberships page and clicking edit. You can also send this Help Centre article detailing how to edit their membership.

Can people sign up for multiple tiers that add up to their membership?

A: Patrons can only sign up for one tier.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for your feedback!

What went wrong?