Please note that while these examples below show a Dollar ($) amount, this can also show in any of our supported currencies, depending on the currency you choose to bill in. To learn more about our supported currencies, please visit this help center article: Patreon's supported currencies.
- What you need to know about charge up front
- How to enabled charge up front
- Using your after you enable charge up front billing
Read first: How charge up front works
- What to expect for existing patrons
- What to expect for new patrons
- What happens if I switch from per creation/post to charge up front?
- January 23rd: A patron joins your $10 monthly membership. Their terms state that they’ll be charged on the 1st of each following month.
- February 1st: The patron is charged for their January patronage.
- February 20th: You switch to charge up front billing. Any new patrons who join will be charged immediately to join and then on the 1st of each month. Existing patrons experience no charge when you switch.
- March 1st: All new and existing patrons are charged.
What if an existing patron increases their membership after I switch?
- January 5th: A patron joins your $10 monthly membership. Their terms state that they’ll be charged on the 1st of each following month.
- February 1st: The patron is charged on February 1st for January patronage.
- February 20th: You switch to charge up front billing. New patrons are charged immediately to join, and then on the 1st of each month. Existing patrons are not charged when you switch.
- February 25th: The existing patron increases their membership to $20 monthly. They are charged $10 immediately— the difference between their previous and new memberships. They’ll immediately unlock access to your $20 content. They’ll be charged the 1st of each month following (regardless when they increase).
- March 1st: All new and existing patrons are charged their membership amount.
What if an existing patron decreases their membership after I switch?
If an existing patron downgrades, or “decreases” their membership, since the patron is not unlocking any new content, they will not experience a charge. They will be charged their new, decreased membership amount on the 1st of the following month.
- February 24th: You switch to charging patrons up front.
- February 25th: A new patron joins your membership at your $10 level, and are charged $10 to join. Their initial payment grants them access to your back catalog of content for their level.
- March 1st: The patron will be charged $10 for March patronage. They’ll pay on the 1st of each month thereafter.
Switching from per creation/post to charge up front monthly
Enabling charge up front billing for patrons
- Log in and .
- If you haven’t already, select the monthly billing option.
- If you have 2-factor authentication enabled for login, you won’t need to verify your phone number before enabling charge up front. You'll have the option to charge patrons up front and can quickly enable, so be sure you want to make this switch!
- If you do not have 2-factor login enabled, verify your account by clicking the button that says “Verify to enable charge up front.” You'll enter a mobile phone number for SMS verification. We'll send you a verification code to your mobile device.
- Once verified, you can enable charge up front.
- Don’t forget to hit save!
Changes to your relationship manager when you enable charge up front
- May 1st: Your existing patrons are charged, and populate on the February billing list of your . Their charge date is May 1st, as this is how your previous billing method operated.
- May 13th: You switch to charge up front.
- May 13th - 31st: Five new patrons join between when you switch and the end of the month. Those new patrons are charged immediately, and populate on the May billing cycle list of your . Your existing patrons are not included on this list, as their May 1st charge is represented on your February billing list
- June 1st: All existing and new patrons are charged, and all populate on your June billing month.