When you subscribe to a creator, purchase a membership or product on Patreon that is offered by a creator, or otherwise engage with a creator, you are joining a Patreon community associated with that creator. This community is comprised of the creator and people who have also subscribed to that creator, purchased a membership or product on Patreon that is offered by that creator or otherwise engaged with or become a member of that creator, including those who subscribed to that creator for free. This article details what information may be visible to those fellow community members.
This information may be displayed as part of your member profile, which is visible to fellow community members, and may include more information than your public profile, which is publicly accessible to anyone in the world. Please visit our resource about your public Patreon profile to learn more about what is visible on your public profile page and what you can choose to display.
What is visible to fellow community members
When you comment on a post, like a post or message, react to a post or message, join a chat room, send a chat message, express interest in an event, join an event experience and take other community actions, you are visible to those Patreon communities and members of those communities can see your member profile.
What is currently visible to fellow community members in your member profile
- Your full profile name: This is currently the same name that is displayed on your public profile, and you can use a pseudonym for your profile name if you prefer not to use your real name. You can change your profile name from your Basics settings.
- Your profile image: This is currently the same image that is displayed on your public profile. If you don’t upload your own image, you’ll get an adorable fox avatar as your profile image. You can upload an image anytime from your Basics settings.
- When you joined Patreon: The date that you created your Patreon account
- Your bio: A biographical description of yourself that you’ve added to your Patreon account. This is currently the same biographical description that is displayed on your public profile. If you haven’t added a bio, then this information will not appear on your public or member profile
- Your connected social media accounts: These are currently the same links to any social media accounts you’ve connected to your Patreon account and displayed on your public profile. When you connect a social media account via your Social links settings, it will be displayed on your member profile. You can choose not to display a social media account link in your member profile at any time by toggling it off in your Social links settings. If you haven’t connected any of your social media accounts to your Patreon account, then this information will not appear on your public or member profile
What may be visible in the future to fellow community members in your member profile
- A community-specific name: This is a name you’ve selected that is specific to a particular community on Patreon
- A community-specific profile image: This is an image you’ve selected that is specific to a particular community on Patreon
- A community-specific bio: This is a biographical description you’ve entered that is specific to a particular community on Patreon
- When you joined the community: The date that you first subscribed, became a member or purchased a product offered by the creator and how long you’ve supported that creator on Patreon
- Your tier: Your membership tier on Patreon for the related creator
- Your purchases: The products you’ve purchased on Patreon that were offered by the related creator
- Shared communities: The communities on Patreon to which you and the person viewing your community profile both belong
- Shared chats: The chat rooms on Patreon in which you and the person viewing your community profile both are or have been present
- Your community status: If you have been delegated any roles in the community or have received any awards or badges, they may appear in your member profile.
Turning off your member profile
If you’d like to, you can turn off your member profile by disabling your “community profile” setting on desktop (not yet available on mobile). If you turn off your community profile, fellow community members will still be able to see your public profile.
- While logged in to Patreon.com on desktop, click on the Settings link from the left-hand navigation
- Click on the Account settings tab from the menu
- Scroll down to adjust the Community profile setting
- Your changes will automatically be saved, and your public profile will be displayed to fellow community members
As the creator, how is my community profile different?
As a creator, you also get a community profile that your members can see as you interact with them in your community. Your community profile may contain the same information as a member profile, as described above. Your community profile will also always contain an indicator noting that you are the creator associated with the community; this indicator cannot be turned off.