Changing your tier

  • Updated

This article provides instructions for changing your membership tier and what you can expect if you upgrade or downgrade your membership, depending on the creator's billing model. If you wish to cancel your membership instead, please refer to Canceling a Membership

How to change your tier

If a creator offers multiple paid membership tiers, you can change your tier whenever you’d like. Click on your device type below for steps to switch your tier.

  • Follow these steps while on your Member profile. You can check which profile you’re on by clicking your profile picture in the bottom left corner.

    1. Locate and click on the creator under Memberships from the left-side navigation
    2. Click on the Membership tab on the creator’s page
    3. Scroll down and below Upgrade your membership, you’ll find all the options for upgrading to a higher tier
    4. If the creator offers lower tiers that you’d like to switch to, click on More tiers
    5. Select the tier you want to change to and click on the Change tier button
    6. Review the payment details and order summary, and once you’re ready, click on Subscribe now
  • Follow these steps while on your member profile. You can switch between member and creator profiles (if you have one) by tapping your profile image in the top right corner and tapping the Switch to button for the profile you’d like to visit.

    1. Tap on the membership icon MembershipCollection.png in the top right corner of the screen, next to your profile picture
    2. Tap on the membership from this list to go to the full member view of the creator’s Patreon
    3. Tap on your current membership Membership.png directly under the creator’s Patreon header
    4. Tap on Edit membership
    5. Tap on Change membership
    6. Tap the Join button for your new tier, and follow the prompts to make the switch
  • Follow these steps while on your Member profile. You can check which profile you’re on by tapping the Menu.jpg menu in the top left corner and then clicking on your profile photo at the bottom of the menu your profile. Select your Member profile

    1. Tap on the menu.png Menu button in the top left corner
    2. Locate and tap on the creator under Memberships from the left-side navigation
    3. Tap on the Membership tab on the creator’s page
    4. Scroll down and below Upgrade your membership, you’ll find all the options for upgrading to a higher tier 
    5. If the creator offers lower tiers that you’d like to switch to, tap on More tiers
    6. Select the tier you want to change to and tap on the Change tier button
    7. Review the payment details and order summary, and once you’re ready, click on Subscribe now

What happens if you upgrade your tier?

Creator's billing model When you upgrade
Subscription billing

When you upgrade to a higher membership tier, your billing date remains the same. You'll be charged the outstanding amount immediately and gain access to the higher tier for the remainder of your billing period.

You’ll be charged the upgraded membership amount on your next billing date.

Per creation

You’ll get immediate access to the higher tier membership. Your higher membership applies to future paid posts up to your monthly max.

We won’t exceed your monthly limit, so you may not be billed for additional paid posts.

Monthly charge upfront

Payments already made for the month are credited toward the upgrade, and you pay the difference.

You will then pay your higher membership amount on the 1st of the month.

Monthly (non-charge upfront)

You’ll get immediate access to the higher tier membership.

There’s no charge to upgrade, and you pay your higher membership amount on the 1st of the month.

Annual membership

A pro-rated amount of what you’ve already paid is credited, and you pay the remaining upgrade cost.

When you upgrade an annual membership, it extends your term for a year from that date.

What happens if you switch to a lower tier?

Creator's billing model When you upgrade
Subscription billing

You'll remain on your original tier until the next billing date.

You'll have access to the lower-tier membership on your next billing date.

Per creation

Decreasing your membership will not change the amount of any pending bills already posted to your Billing history.

Your lower amount will be applied to future paid posts if your monthly limit has not already been met.

Monthly charge upfront

Decreasing your membership does not affect the current month’s membership access. Since you’ve already paid for the month upfront, decreasing affects your membership renewal on the upcoming first of the month.

We recommend switching to a lower tier closer to the end of the month for a smooth transition.

Monthly (non-charge upfront)

If you decrease your membership, your access is instantly limited to the new (downgraded) tier that you've joined.

Annual membership

At the moment, there’s no way to change your annual membership to a lower tier.

You can, however, join a lower tier after your year membership has ended with a slight workaround — You can cancel your membership near the end of your year term and then rejoin at a lower-tier option once the year has passed.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for your feedback!

What went wrong?