You’re a creative – evolution is a vital part of the creative process. Keep your tiers updated with the work you’re producing, and benefits you’re offering.
Check in with yourself on a regular basis
Are you burnt out? Try to think about what is valuable to your patrons, and what will be sustainable for you. Here’s a great post from the Patreon Blog that discusses strategy for your business: 5 Steps to Predictable, Monthly Income for Any Creator with an Audience
What’s in this article?
Before we get started, keep in mind that you cannot edit the price of a tier with active patrons. That said, you can change just about everything else.
Editing a tier
- Visit your Creator Page Editor.
- Select tiers from the top menu.
- Click Edit tier of the individual tier you’re making changes to.
At the top of the tier editor, you can change: tier name, description, and benefits you track. If a tier doesn't have any patrons joined yet, you can still edit the price of the tier. If your tier already has patrons joined, the tier price cannot be changed.
As you scroll down, you’ll see where you can:
- Change your tier image by clicking the X in the current image.
- Increase, or decrease the patron limit for a tier.
- Add, or remove a shipping requirement.
- Change, or remove Discord roles.
Note: Whether you’re making a minor change to your description, or completely relaunching a tier, be sure to scroll down and Save your changes.
Are you looking to change the price structure of your tiers? You currently cannot change the price of a tier while patrons are joined in that tier.
That said, you can still implement a plan to reprice your tiers. Communication is key when making changes to your tiers, and we recommend going through these 5 simple steps to make the transition to a new tier price as smooth as possible:
- Build your plan
- Making sure posts are accessible
- Unpublishing your tier
- Deleting your tier
- Following-up with patrons not in a tier
You can read our full article to guide you through repricing, here.
Note: When you add a new tier, your new tier will not automatically have access to old posts that were published for ‘Select Tiers.’ To grant new tiers access to old posts, visit the Published page of your Posts section. Click Edit next to the posts you want to grant access to, and select your new tiers before saving.
Q: Why can’t I change the price of a tier with patrons in it?
While a tier has patrons in it, you cannot edit the tier amount. We do this to prevent confusion. For example, imagine if you edited the $5 tier to the $10 tier - you would either have different patrons paying different amounts for the exact same benefit (not good), or you would raise prices on the $5 patrons without asking (also not good!)
Q: Can I move a patron to another tier?
Not at the moment. Only patrons can edit their membership tier, so you won’t be able to move patrons from “no benefit” to a tier on your end.
Feel free to pass along this article from our Help Center to guide patrons through selecting a new tier:
Q: Why are some patrons listed under “no tier” after I deleted a tier?
Patrons are never automatically moved into new tiers when you create them as it changes their billing and benefit selections, so they need to change this on their end to be included in anything new. They can edit their payment following these steps.
Q: How do I know if a patron is a “no tier” patron?
You can use the filters in your Relationship Manager to see who’s not currently in a tier.
To do this select the following from your Relationship Manager filters
All tiers > “No tiers”
Q: Why can’t I save my tier?
Are there patrons in that tier? If so, you won’t be able to change the price of the tier.
Check to see if you have an extra character in the field where only numbers are allowed (like $.) Try removing any extra characters and saving again.