This article will go over why you may have been charged after you had cancelled your membership to a creator. It will cover any charges that you may feel should not have gone through. It's important to remember that our site operates in the PST (Pacific Standard Time Zone) and our billing cycle starts on the first of each month in alignment to that time.
If you cancelled your membership and were still billed, there are a couple of reasons why this may have occurred. In this article we will cover the following:
Will I be charged if I cancel my per-post membership?
Cancelling your membership with a creator who charges per post will not delete pending bills on your account. If you cancel your membership before the start of the pay cycle (the 1st of the month) you may be charged if you have any pending bills. This is because it is a charge for content published while your membership was active.
If you're unsure whether or not you'll be charged when you cancel, check your billing history for any pending bills before cancelling. Any paid posts created while your membership was active, will be listed here and you can expect that they'll be processed when you cancel.
To get to your billing history hover over your profile image in the top right to open the "user menu" > click on "Manage memberships" > Click "Billing history" from the menu bar.
You will also notice a total amount. The total will show as pending for per-post payments in your billing history before you are charged.
- You're a $1 patron of a per-post creator. They make a paid post on July 9th while you're a patron. A bill is created for this post and is marked as a pending payment in your billing history. On July 20th, you cancel your membership and your pending bill for $1 is processed to your payment method.
Will I be charged after cancelling my monthly membership?
If you cancelled your membership to a monthly creator before the payment cycle begins (the 1st of the month) and are charged later in the month, it is likely your payment initially declined.
We bill all patrons with an active membership on the 1st of each month, Pacific Standard Time (PST). If you cancel your membership at any point on the 1st of the month (PST), we've already billed your account, and it will be processed.
When the 1st of the month rolls around, we begin to process all payments. If your payment does not process on the 1st, we will continually attempt to bill you.
If you update your payment method or get enough funds in your account to cover the charge, we reattempt your payment.
- You're a patron of a monthly creator. We bill you on March 1st for your membership and it declines. You cancel your membership on March 2nd. We continually attempt to bill you for this past declined bill. You later have enough funds in your account on March 5th to cover the payment – when we run your card on the 5th, it processes.