We are currently Beta testing Annual memberships, and it is not available to all creators.
- How annual billing works
- Setting up Annual Memberships and setting your annual discount
- Managing annual patrons
- Annual memberships on your Income reports
- Patrons making changes to their membership
- Patrons switching from monthly to annual
- Refunding annual patrons
How does annual billing work?
- Annual memberships in beta is only available to creators who have our enabled. It is not available for per creation and monthly (non-charge up front) billing creators
- Patrons who want to commit to a yearly membership and pay up front if their creator offers annual memberships.
Their annual membership will automatically renew on the 1st of the month after 12 months have passed.
- Example: A patron starts an annual membership with you on July 8th, 2021. They are charged immediately, and instantly have access to your back catalog of content for their selected tier. Their annual membership will automatically renew on August 1st, 2022, unless they cancel. Their annual charge will occur on the 1st of August every year until they cancel.
Setting up Annual Memberships and setting your annual discount
- Head to the section of your page editor.
- Scroll until you see the annual memberships beta section. If you’ve been invited to the beta, you’ll see the option to opt-in to annual memberships. Once you’ve checked the box, a field will appear where you can set the discount that annual patrons will receive for their commitment.
- After selecting annual memberships, you’ll see the option to customize the discount percentage patrons will receive when they join annually. The default is 16%, which is 2 months free. While you can set your discount to 0%, we don’t recommend going this route — getting a discount is a huge incentive to commit to membership for a full year*.
* You can offer a maximum of 16% off the annual price of memberships.
- Once you’ve set your discount percentage, scroll up and click save changes to launch annual memberships as an option for new patrons.
Making changes to your annual memberships discount percentage
- Log in to www.patreon.com and head to the section of your page editor.
- Scroll down and click into the percentage field in the annual memberships beta section of the page.
- Click save changes.
Opting-out of annual memberships
- Log in to your creator page at www.patreon.com and head to the section of your page editor.
- Scroll down and deselect the checkbox in the annual memberships beta section.
- A pop-up window will appear asking you to confirm the change. Click stop accepting annual memberships.
- If you wish to opt-out of offering annual memberships for patrons click save changes.,
What happens when I opt-out? New patrons will no longer see the option to join annually. Existing annual patrons’ remain annual patrons until they cancel. Their memberships will auto-renew at the annual price they joined.
Managing annual patrons
- Example: Will joins your tier at $28.80 for an annual membership on May 3rd, 2020. Will populates in your as an “Active” patron as soon as their payment processes. Will appears in your “Active” patron list through May 2021. When you download the CSV file of your manager report, you’ll see Will as “Active” during that year, with a “Last charge date” of May 3rd, 2020.
When you download the CSV version of this page, patrons with an annual membership will appear as “Active,” and their “Last charge date” will be the date they joined, or upgraded their membership.
- Important Note: if you currently use the older version of the PM, you’ll want to refer to the newer version of the Patron manager to filter by monthly and annual patrons.
If you download the Patron manager report and plug it into another software, please note that we’ve added a column, “Charge frequency,” to the CSV report. Column “O” is “Charge frequency,” and column “P” is now “Complete” on the updated CSV report.
Filtering annual and monthly patrons
- Download the CSV from your
- Click the dropdown arrow in the Charge Frequency column
- Select Quick Filter > choose annual or monthly
- Filter the Patronage Since Date column by selecting the dropdown arrow and choosing Sort Descending.
Benefits being managed
Annual memberships on my Income reports
- Example: Joe joins your tier at $19.20 for an annual membership on August 5th, 2020, and is charged immediately. You will see Joe’s payment reflected in your August, 2020 report. While Joe will be an active patron through August 2021, his payment of $19.20 will only be reported in the month his payment processed – August 2020.
- Example: Sally joins your tier at $9.60 for an annual membership on January 13th, 2020. On your , Sally will be represented in the “New Paying Patrons” column of your Patronage page for January 2020. After that she will no longer be accounted for on your Patronage dashboard.
If you download the CSV of your , Sally’s “Date Payment Succeeded,” will show as 2020-01-13, the date that Sally paid their annual membership.
- You can see a patrons’ full payment history from your page.
Pledge Growth Dashboard
What happens when a patron edits their membership?
- A patron paid for your $120 tier and upgrades in the same month to your $140 tier, they are immediately charged $20 for the difference between the two.
- A patron paid $120 in April and upgrades in June to your $140 tier, only $110 from their initial pledge is left and would make their charge to upgrade $30.
Patrons switching from monthly to annual
Patrons will be charged for the entire year up front at the yearly price you've set.
Refunding annual memberships
Can I issue partial refunds?
If I refund an annual membership, will the patron still have access?
- If you refund the patron’s full payment: If you refund any amount to an annual patron they will immediately lose access to your patron-only content for their tier level — they’ve essentially discontinued their annual membership via refund. They can repledge if they’d like, however, they’ll be charged their new membership amount and terms.
- If you refund the patron’s remaining pledge amount: Since the partial refund includes the remaining pledge (not including the month you refund in), after you refund the patron will have access to their membership for the remainder of the month. Their membership is essentially terminated in the following month.