When a creator schedules or starts a Live, you may get notified by email, push notification, or in your Patreon feed.
How Live notifications work
If a creator has email and push notifications turned on for their Live, you can get notified at a few key points:
- When the Live is scheduled: You'll get a notification letting you know the creator has scheduled a Live
- Shortly before a scheduled Live starts: You'll get a reminder, like a Live starts soon notification
- When the creator goes live: You may get a creator is live now notification
If a creator turns off notifications when creating or scheduling their Live, you won't receive the scheduled or Live now notifications for that Live.
Why am I not receiving notifications when a creator goes live?
A few things can affect whether you get a Live notification:
- The creator turned off notifications for that Live. If this setting is off, you won't receive Live notifications for it
- You're not included in the Live's audience. Lives can be limited to certain tiers, so you'll only get notified if you have access to watch it
- Your notification settings are turned off. Check your notification settings and make sure Live notifications are turned on for email and/or push
- Delivery may be delayed. Live notifications can take about a minute to send, so for very short or spontaneous Lives, the Live may end before you get the email
- The email may have gone to spam or another folder. If you're expecting an email, check your Spam, Promotions, or Social folders
Why am I receiving so many notifications when a creator goes live?
It's normal to get more than one notification for the same Live — Patreon can send up to three: one when it's scheduled, one as a reminder shortly before it starts, and one when the creator goes live. See “How Live notifications work” above.
You might also get extra notifications if:
- You have both email and push notifications turned on — you'll get one for each
- You follow the creator from more than one Patreon account — if you have access through multiple accounts, each one gets its own notification
- The creator scheduled multiple Lives or made multiple Live posts — each Live sends its own notifications